Tags

, , , ,

My roommate inspired me a couple of weeks ago with a batch of yummy-looking homemade applesauce. I never buy it from the store, mostly because it just doesn’t taste as good and it’s chock full of processed sugars, etc. Not worth my money or the calories.

When I was at the farmer’s market last weekend, I asked around for what was the best apple at this time of year to make applesauce. I settled on some Red Romes, but was told that there are many good options depending on the sweetness or tartness I desire. Just ask your friendly produce manager or farmer’s market stand owner. They know where it’s at!

Here we go…step by step applesauce:

First, gather your apples and start peeling. This was by far the most time consuming part of the process.

Peel them, core them, and then chop them into 1/8ths (about…depends on how large your apples are. You don’t want them too thick or they’ll have to stew forever before you can mash ‘em).

I used about 4 lbs of apples, so I could have leftover applesauce in the fridge for the week :)

Once you’re done peeling and chopping, pour in 1/2 cup of water and put the pan, covered, on the stove on medium heat.

Stir periodically. Once the apples and water start to boil, you’ll need to stir more often so that they don’t start to stick to the bottom of the pot.

We’re getting there! They smell so good! Who needs fall scented candles when you make applesauce?

Once they get really soft, turn down the heat to low and pull out a potato masher and go to town.

If you want a really smooth sauce, you’ll have to use a food processor or blender. I’m a big fan of applesauce with chunks though, so potato masher it is. Alright! When you feel that you’ve sufficiently smooshed your stewing apples, add 1 Tbs. cinnamon, 1/8 cup of honey, and 1 tsp. vanilla. Mix it up!

If you want to, take the potato masher to it again. But you don’t have to. This really is all up to you. You’re in complete control here.

Serve warm, because it’s tasty like that. It feels illegal, like you’re eating apple pie filling. YUM!

Keep the leftovers in the fridge. It is equally as yummy served cold.

Happy applesauce making!

Just a heads up, I’m disconnecting for the weekend and going camping. Can’t wait!

I wanna know: do you like to technologically disconnect while you’re on vacation? Or do the phone and the computer come with you?

I love disconnecting from technology for short periods of time. It’s nice to remind myself what peace in my head feels like :) When I’m on vacation (even camping) I’m not always really disciplined about it though.

