Give life: donate blood

I donated blood this morning. What a great way to start a Saturday! Here are some stats about blood donation from the Red Cross:

  • Only 37 percent of the U.S. population is eligible to donate blood – currently 3 in ever 100 people donate.
  • The average adult has about 10 to 12 pints of blood in his/her body. Roughly 1 pint is given during a donation.
  • The average red blood cell transfusion needed is approximately 3 pints.
  • More than 38,000 blood donations are needed every day.
  • Type O blood is the most requested blood type as it can be given to someone of any blood type. 40% of the population has this type of blood.

Donating blood is a completely safe process. Blood cannot be created; it is only supplied through the donations of generous people.

If you want more information, check out the Red Cross donation website. Check out the Red Cross website or call your local Red Cross chapter to find a blood drive near you!

6 thoughts on “Give life: donate blood

  1. Love it. After I had Caleb I had a massive hemorrhage and lost over 1 liter. I was in bad shape and I don’t remember much about that day.

  2. I’ll admit…I’ve never given blood. I feel bad about it…I’m not even that afraid of needles! In HS I was never able too because they came always when I had a tennis match that night…so now I’m a little nervous!

    • Oh you totally should! Especially if you’re not afraid of needles…there’s nothing standing in your way! Just find a blood drive and show up. The volunteers make the process super easy from the minute you walk in the door. You’ll have to sign a couple things, answer a few questions, get your blood pressure taken, etc. And then you donate and you’re free :) Nothing to it!

  3. Pingback: Saturday Small Talk « Balance and Blueberries

Leave a Reply

