Apple Crumble for One

This past weekend, I was craving something sweet like no one’s business. I don’t keep store-bought sweets around because I have no self control with portion size. Besides, I love to bake. It’s times like this that give me the opportunity.

Because it was just me, I didn’t want to make a whole dessert that would sit around, tempting me, just waiting for someone (me) to consume it. Also, I didn’t have any sugar in the pantry, so traditional baked goods were out. Not to be held back by such menial details, Apple Crumble for One was born.

To bake your dessert, you’ll need a ramekin. Like one of these:

-source-

Any small oven-safe dish (think cereal bowl size) will work, though.

Pre-heat your oven to 350 degrees and peel, core, and slice your apple.

Put the apple slices in your cute little ramekin and toss it with 1/4 tsp. cinnamon.

In another bowl, mix your crumble:

  • 3/4 cup oats
  • 1 Tbs. wheat germ
  • 1 Tbs. oil
  • 1 Tbs. honey
  • 1 tsp. Peanut butter
  • 1/4 tsp. cinnamon
  • dash of nutmeg

Mix it all up and pour it over apple goodness.

Bake for 20 to 25 minutes.

Enjoy the scent of baking apples and cinnamon. Those are the aromas of happiness. I’m convinced.

I wanna know: What are your favorite scents?