Rotisserie Chicken Soup

Last week, my dear friend Cara was here and we made macarons (remember?)

We also bought and consumed part of a rotisserie chicken. I didn’t blog it, because I didn’t cook it. But let me tell you, I’m hooked. I’m going to do that more often!

Not only did we each have a huge dinner, courtesy of our chicken friend, but I had a lunch, and used it as pizza topping, and still had a carcass with plenty of meat left. So, I called my dear father, and requested directions how to turn my chicken into a pot of soup.

It’s SO EASY. For real.

Step one: tear apart chicken, limb from limb. It’s gross, but it’ll make things even easier in the long run. And dump it into a pot of water. Boil the water and the chicken. Now, a word of warning, don’t put in too much water, or your broth will be watery. On the other hand, don’t let it boil dry, because then you have other problems. I poured in just enough to *almost* cover the chicken initially, and had to add some as I went.

Once the chicken is falling off the bone, it’s probably done. However, the longer you let it cook, the cleaner the bones will get. It’s up to you, really.

Step 2: take it off the stove and use a colander to drain the juice into a bowl. This is your chicken broth!

Step 3: Let the chicken in the colander cool until you can touch it without screaming. Then, pull off all of the meat, and discard the rest. Here’s my carnage:

I know, I probably could have been more thorough and gotten a lot more meat off, but I had enough. So I called it quits.

Step 4: Pour your chicken broth, water (I did equal parts chicken broth and water) the pulled off meat, some carrots, celery, green onions, barley, and spices into a pot. Let it cook on low to medium heat, stirring occasionally. Anything else you want to add? Go for it! Beans, other veggies, more spices, noodles, etc.

When it looks done, taste it. Don’t burn yourself. Is it missing anything? If so, add it. That’s the great part about soups, you can’t really go wrong.

In other news, it’s officially Christmas-time, friends! I set up the tree today :)

Decorations tomorrow…stay tuned!

I wanna know: Have you decorated for Christmas? If yes, what’s your favorite piece? If not, are you going to?