Homemade Mac & Cheese

Let me preface this post by saying that this isn’t going to taste like the Kraft version. Somewhere deep inside, I had hopes that it would. I did. I’m not saying that this isn’t super tasty. Because it is. It’s just not mac and cheese from a box. Nothing will ever match mac and cheese from a box.

By way of a secondary preface, many thanks to Amanda for sharing this recipe with me :) I hope that I did it justice!

Gather your supplies:

  • 1-16 oz box of macaroni
  • 2-8 oz blocks of cheese, one white, one yellow
  • 1 small onion (or the equivalent)
  • 1/4 cup of milk
  • 4 Tbs butter
  • Parmesan cheese
  • Bread crumbs (or a couple of slices of bread to turn into bread crumbs)

First things first, prepare your noodles. While that’s happening, shred your blocks of cheese and dice your onion.

When the noodles are done, transfer them to a greased, glass 9×13 pan, and mix in the onions and the cheese.

Thinly slice your stick of butter and distribute over the top.

Sprinkle on Parmesan and bread crumbs. We didn’t have as much in the way of bread crumbs as I thought that we did. So, I toasted a couple of slices of bread and diced and crumbled it up. It worked, sort of!

Bake at 350 degrees for 30 minutes. When it’s done, mix it up and serve!

Side note #1: check out how green that broccoli is!

Side note #2: What do you all know about melting cheese? How do they make Velveeta? Is there a way to make it that doesn’t involve infusing cheese with 8 million chemicals?

I wanna know: What’s your favorite way to prepare pasta? Stuffed? With sauce? With cheese?

11 thoughts on “Homemade Mac & Cheese

  1. I am just not a fan of Velveeta and similar “cheeses.” Tillamook cheddar cheese has all of four ingredients and it is super-delicious.

    I’m with you on Kraft mac & cheese though. There is truly nothing like it. <3

  2. Velveeta comes from the NON-refrigerated section of the grocery store. That should say it all right there… (I’m not judging, I’ve been known to use it on occasion!)

    When I do homemade mac and cheese I make a cheese sauce (butter, flour, milk, cheese) using a basic recipe in Joy of Cooking (your favorite, right?). It takes a little more time but is yummy yummy.

    Any kind of pasta is a hit at our house, but especially if it has cheese. :-)

    • Agreed. I just hate the fact that it’s almost entirely preservatives. Stay tuned. I’m going to attempt to make a real version. If I have any success, it’ll make an appearance :)

  3. Merianne has it right – if you want something similar to kraft-in-a-box cheesy goodness, make a roux and turn it into a cheese sauce. And I wouldn’t look any farther than Joy of Cooking. I also have a decent recipe from Rachel Ray – she adds nutmeg to hers – which is evidently fairly common in cheese sauces, but not really my cup of mac-‘n’-cheese goodness.

    Glad you enjoyed the recipe. One of these days I’ll make it for you from the recipe and see if its better than what I could remember off the top of my head.

  4. Pingback: February….check! | Balance and Blueberries

  5. I love pasta with any kind of sauce! I think I could eat pasta every day the rest of my life and could not get sick of it. But until now I never had Mac & Cheese, but I think I’ll try this someday.

Leave a Reply

