Lemonade by the glass

At the same farmers’ market where I got my sweet corn, I impulsively bought a cup of lemonade. This wasn’t your average lemonade stand. These kids meant business. They handmade each cup of lemonade upon order, squeezing the lemons in front of your very eyes.

I tried to recreate it, and, if I do say so myself, I’m pretty stinking close. Consider yourself warned, this makes one tart lemonade. If you don’t think that you’re going to be a fan and prefer a sweet lemonade, juice only 1 lemon, instead of one and a half.

Lemonade by the glass

In order to make yourself a cold glass of fresh lemonade, you’ll need:

  • two glasses (or, one shaker and one serving glass)
  • a citrus juicer
  • two lemons (1 and a half for juicing, half for a garnish)
  • water
  • 1 Tbs. sugar
  • Chop your lemons in half, and juice each three of the halves by pushing on the top of the lemon, and twisting. Pour the resulting juice into the glass.
  • Add 1 cup of water and 1 Tbs. of sugar. Stir (or shake, if you went the shaker route)!
  • Pour over ice in the serving glass.
  • Chop the remaining half a lemon into halves, and use as a garnish.
  • Kick your feet up and enjoy!

The great part about lemonade is that you can totally tweak it to suit your preferences. Want it sweeter? Add another teaspoon or 3 of sugar. Like your lemonade really tart? Try juicing the leftover half a lemon and add it to the glass.

I wanna know: How do you like your lemonade? Tart or sweet?