Canning

I have successfully canned! I feel like a more accomplished individual. I now have, in my pantry, 12 jars of crushed tomatoes and 4 jars of salsa.

Let me tell you, canning was an adventure. I’m far from an expert, so I’m not going to go into the ins and outs of canning in this post. But I will say that if you have any inclination to can, you should give it a whirl.

Here are some resources:

  • I got a lot of good information from You Grow Girl, including her very simple recipe for canning tomatoes and her well written directions for the canning process.
  • pickyourown.org has a lot of great resources, including where to find pick-your-own farms and canning, freezing, and preserving directions, FAQ, and recipes.
  • Ball Canning has great recipes and tips on their website.

If you don’t have your own garden produce to can, check out your local farm market or a farm on pickyourown.org. Ask if they have a discount for canning produce. They might have some that’s not as pretty to sell that they would love to sell you for your chopping and preserving purposes. Ask if they have any tips for how to best preserve the produce that you want to buy.

Good luck!

I wanna know: Do you can or freeze produce when it’s in season so that you can enjoy it throughout the winter?

5 thoughts on “Canning

  1. I picked up extra green beans and broccoli to freeze last weekend – but its still in my fridge and will probably be gobbled up soon!

    Great work, by the way. You’re so much braver than I am.

  2. Pingback: September | Balance and Blueberries

  3. Pingback: Bucket list | Balance and Blueberries

  4. Pingback: Pasta Sauce « Balance and Blueberries

Leave a Reply

