Chocolate cupcakes

Have you heard the saying, “Chocolate and peanut butter: the best combination since Saturday and Sunday”?

It’s the truth. I’m a huge fan of anything that combines chocolate and peanut butter: Reeses peanut butter cups, buckeyes, moose tracks ice cream. You name it, I’ll eat it. Best food combination ever.

In honor of National Encouragement Week and the fact that our new interns have finished their orientation, Amanda and I decided that they deserved cupcakes. Never having made cupcakes from scratch before, I decided that my maiden voyage would involve chocolate and peanut butter. Obviously.

After hunting around, I chose this recipe for the cupcakes and this recipe for the peanut butter frosting. My only gripe was that I overfilled the cupcake tin, and so the cupcakes overflowed. When the recipe says “Fill half way,” the recipe means “Fill half way,” not 3/4s of the way. Besides that small issue, the cupcakes taste great, and are light, soft and delicious.

In case you’re curious, the peanut butter frosting is a real winner, folks. Save this recipe and treasure it for always. You’ll thank me. I promise.

I wanna know: What’s your favorite food combination?

 

4 thoughts on “Chocolate cupcakes

  1. Coconut & mango. Chocolate & cherry. Ginger & white chocolate. Cayenne & dark chocolate. Mmmm. These look so good, Rachel! If you’re looking for more cupcake ideas, check out “Martha Stewart’s Cupcakes” – amazingly delicious AND cute!

  2. Pingback: $15 for $30 Worth of Gourmet Cupcakes at Lollycakes Cupcakes » Get your daily Groupon deals

  3. Pingback: $12 for One Dozen Cupcakes at Star Cakes ($30 Value) » Get your daily Groupon deals

Leave a Reply

