Tags

, , , , ,

I will not claim to be an expert on the noodle-making front. Far from it, in reality. But, after a couple of trail runs fails, I feel like I can, with a modicum of confidence, share with you what I’ve discovered.

In theory, making noodles is very easy. In fact, you could probably do it right now with the items that you have in your cupboard. I’m not going to call this easy, but I will call it doable. Definitely doable.

Without further ado, grab your ingredients: flour, 1 egg, olive oil, salt, and water.

1. Dump 1 cup of flour on the counter, and make it into a volcano. Like you’re 5 again. Crack an egg into the middle.

2. On the top, drizzle 1 Tbs. olive oil and sprinkle 1/2 tsp. salt.

3. Using a fork, start to cut the egg into the flour. Do your best. It’s going to be a mess.

4. You’ll probably need to add some water in order to get it all to mix up.You’ll need somewhere between 2 and 4 Tbs of water, added 1 Tbs at a time, as needed.

5. Keep mixing (feel free to use your fingers to knead if that sounds easier) until the dough forms a ball. I’m told that you don’t want to over-work the dough. Once it forms a ball, it’s done; don’t keep kneading. It should be pliable, but not sticky.

6. Take half of the dough ball, and roll it out. The thinner the better, as the noodles will absorb water and swell slightly when you cook them.

7. Using a pastry cutter (a pizza cutter works just as well!), cut your dough into noodles of desired shape and size.

8. Cook your noodles! No need to let them dry, drop them straight into a pot of boiling water or soup. The noodles only need 3 to 5 minutes to cook all the way through, so if you’re making soup, you can add them at the very last minute.

Good luck!

I wanna know: Have you ever tried making your own noodles? Do you have any advice for me?

P.S. Many thanks to Kurt for sharing his recipe and technique with me! This is based on his mad skills.

 

