Cornbread

There is a recipe on allrecipes.com that is my all-time favorite. It’s called Grandmother’s Buttermilk Cornbread. If there were a scorecard for recipe awesomeness strictly based on the recipe’s name, this one would be a winner. First, the word “Grandmother.” Any recipe that comes from any grandmother’s kitchen is sure to be tried and true and yummy. Can I get an “amen”? Second, the word “butter.” Enough said. And third, “bread.” Nothing says comfort food like bread, warm our of the oven. Especially when it’s coming out of grandma’s oven. And there’s butter involved.

I’ve made this recipe a few times. Usually with chili. This time, I thought I’d change it up. You see, on Saturday morning, I ended up at Meijer, and found their not-quite-dead-yet veggies rack. If you get there at the perfect time, you can buy almost-expired, fresh produce at steep discounts.

Sixty-eight cents for almost 2 lbs of peppers? Yes, please!

So, I invited a few friends over to join me+family, and we made fajitas with all the fixings. The plan was to make mild fajitas; family isn’t a huge fan of spicy food. Despite my best efforts to cook family friendly food, the peppers I got to supplement the bag of peppers you see above were the wrong kind. They looked like bell peppers and were labeled bell peppers, but were so spicy. Not bell peppers. Family wasn’t thrilled. The result: I got to take home all the leftovers.

Instead of just buying more tortilla shells for the leftovers (boring), I figured cornbread would be the ticket.

I was right. Magical. Cornbread, topped with spicy peppers and onions and fajita sauce, and then a dollop of sour cream. A big dollop.

Yum yum! A note about the cornbread: I substituted buttermilk for 1 cup whole milk+1 Tbs. lemon juice. Instead of lemon juice, you could use vinegar. Weird, but it works just fine!

Not feeling fajitas or chili for your cornbread? Make tacos or barbeque chicken! If you’re in more of a dessert mood, cornbread tastes great slathered in honey or jam, topped with fruit and whipped cream, or eaten plain.

I wanna know: What do you do with cornbread?

2 thoughts on “Cornbread

  1. Pingback: Apple Pie: how to make a lattice top « Balance and Blueberries

  2. Pingback: Sunday Small Talk « Balance and Blueberries

Leave a Reply

