Tags

, , , , ,

My mom used to make crepes almost every Saturday mornings. I didn’t fully appreciate what a treat they were. Thanks, Mom!

When I was home, I decided to take a stab at it. It took me a few tries, but I got it eventually! First attempt:

Total fail. Lesson learned–make sure your pan is hot enough.

I used the Betty Crocker recipe for the batter. Check out all those dough and batter stains. That’s how you know that a cookbook is well loved.

By the third crepe (or so), they weren’t looking too awful.

Then Baby Sister showed me up. Apparently my burner still wasn’t hot enough. Well done, Baby Sister!

Without further ado, here you go!

Crepes

From Betty Crocker Cookbook

  • 1 1/2 cups flour
  • 1 Tbs. sugar
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1/2 tsp. baking powder
  • 2 cups milk
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 tsp. vanilla
  • 2 Tbs. butter, melted
  1. Mix all dry ingredients. Add wet ingredients.
  2. Use a whisk to make the batter smooth.
  3. Pour 1/4 cup batter into hot, greased pan.
  4. Swirl the pan immediately to spread out the batter.
  5. When the batter is almost cooked through, use a large spatula to flip.

For a great video how to, check out this clip.

Now, once your crepes are done, keep them toasty in a warm oven, and make your filling. Simply chop strawberries and bananas and warm them in a skillet.

Fill each crepe with the warm strawberry/banana goodness and whipped cream. Roll them up! Top with more creme and fruit, if you so desire.

Happy breakfasting!

I wanna know: Did you have a favorite breakfast when you were a kid? Is it still a favorite?

