Kale Chips

After all that St. Patrick’s Day (over) indulging, I needed a green fix. And not a green beer, green frosting and sprinkles kind of fix. I needed a hearty dose of green. Lettuce green.

It’s confession time. Kale has always scared me. I tried it in smoothies a few times, and decided that I preferred spinach. I made a salad out of it once, and decided that romaine was more my thing. The bottom line: kale is for the hardcore greens eaters. Of which, I am not one.

After seeing many a recipe around the interwebs for kale chips, I decided to give kale a second chance. The verdict? I’m pretty glad that I did.

Kale Chips

(Not original in any way, but who knows where it came from first. It’s so simple!)

You will need:

  • one bunch of curly leafed kale (99 cents at my grocery store)
  • 2 Tbs. olive oil
  • salt, to taste

The steps:

1. Preheat oven to 300 degrees

2. Wash and dry kale leaves. Peal the leaf away from the hard stem. Keep the leaves, discard the stems.

3. Pour 2 Tbs. olive oil on the kale and sprinkle with salt. I went a bit overboard on the salt, so be aware that a little goes a long way. Massage the oil into the kale (which really means, squish it all around so that the kale gets nice and oily and bright green).

4. Lay the leaves in a single layer on cookie sheets. Try to get the leaves as stretched out as possible, so that they’ll bake more evenly.

5. Bake for 20 to 25 minutes, until crispy. Consume!

Regarding this healthful snack, I’ve heard several responses ranging from “They’re just like Doritos!” all the way to “They taste like burnt leaves.” I’d say that I fall somewhere in the middle. I will definitely eat all the “chips” I’ve made. And I will probably make more again soon (with less salt). All that said, they probably won’t be something that I turn into a snacking staple.

I wanna know: What’s your idea of a healthy snack? Do you have a go-to that you make or purchase regularly?

 

2 thoughts on “Kale Chips

  1. Pingback: Baked Crispy Kale Chips « Spoon Feast

Leave a Reply

