Tags

, ,

I’m in town for a weekend. Not traveling. Staying put. What joy! Instead of spending Friday evening in the car, as I have the last 3 weeks, I stayed home, baked bread, enjoyed my back porch, and did some yoga.

I’ve been intrigued by yoga for a year and a bit now. I’m not particularly dedicated. I’m not particularly amazing. But that’s not the point. I like it. How it feels. I like the juxtaposition of effort and peacefulness. And the way my body sighs after a good stretch. How strong I feel in certain poses. That’s what yoga is about. Not judging yourself or anyone else. Relaxing into the process. Observing. And dismissing. Not dwelling or obsessing.

I have discovered Dave Farmar podcasts. This could get dangerous. I did this one. It’s only 20 minutes long. Perfect for a quick evening strength session, with relaxation at the end. You can download other (longer) podcasts for free from itunes.

I discovered that my mat needs a bath. In the worst way. Here’s how!

These no-bake energy bites look pretty awesome. I want to try them.

There is power in doing. Just start. Whatever your goal is, just start. A wise roommate once said, “Don’t think, just do.” Lindsey Lewis shares how to maintain a home yoga practice.

Try this for breakfast: banana bread batter instant steel cut oats. I love any kind of quick bread batter. And can’t wait to try this recipe. Just have to procure some steel cut oats. Maybe I’ll try it with regular oats. Think it would work? Stay tuned!

I wanna know: Do you ever do yoga? Or do you avoid it like the plague?

