Dave Ramsey: The Total Money Makeover

Bob and I recently paid off our student loans, making us debt free! Totally and completely debt free. We were so excited when we hit “submit” on our last payment, and we’re still reveling in our newfound financial freedom. How were we able to accomplish it so quickly? In a nutshell: Dave Ramsey. His plan gave us exactly what we needed to get on the same page and to work together toward a goal.

His The Total Money Makeover was recently re-published in a “Classic Edition.” Ramsey has sold over 4 million copies of the book, originally published in 2003.

Cover art

Ramsey’s advice is based on simple and smart financial management. Running on the bottom border of each page is “If you live like no one else, later you can live like no one else.” In other words, planning, saving, and sacrificing today means your hard work will pay off later in life. You will have saved for rainy days, for vacations, for large purchases. You will have invested for retirement, so when you reach that phase of life, you will be prepared. He doesn’t make it complicated. Who wouldn’t want that?

Unfortunately, without a plan, it’s difficult for many of us to have that much foresight. Dave Ramsey’s baby steps offer a plan. They’re simple—pay off all of your debts (except your house), save an emergency fund, then start saving for retirement and your children’s college tuition. If you’re able to, pay off your house early. Tackle each step intensely, and then move to the next one.

Woven through the book are stories of individuals and families, many like you and me, who had debt, marital problems, and not enough money left at the end of the month. In these testimonies, people share how their marriages were saved through good communication, how they paid off debt with a little self-discipline, and how they regained control of their money and their life.

In the back of the book, you’ll find budget forms to help you on your way to your own Total Money Makeover. I challenge you to check out this book! I guarantee you won’t regret it.

6 thoughts on “Dave Ramsey: The Total Money Makeover

  1. Congratulations on paying off your debt! What an accomplishment!
    It sounds like a very good book. Thanks for the recommendation. I think few people realize how much debt costs them in the long run. On my site (http://lessonsinpersonalfinance.com/) I offer a spreadsheet that shows how much time and money people can save by focusing on paying off their debts one debt at a time and shows them which debts they should pay off first.
    Again, congrats and thanks for the great post!

  2. Congrats!! And to anyone who may read this: “GO!!!” Dustin and I did the FPU class a couple months ago, coming off of the “mission field” with literally $0 to our names and a couple thousand in debt (I know, not much, but it is when your husband works 2 days a week! That was then, things have changed 😀 ) and we are now also debt free, own our car outright and our living on our own income (we had a bit of help from parents in the beginning). We are so behind Dave Ramsey! Anyway, enough of my rampage 🙂 Way to go! Keep up the good work and so excited you guys are hosting the class!

  3. Congrats!!! Such a great feeling to get rid of those student debts! I kept my “paid in full” letter from my student loan company. I have yet to frame it and display it proudly in our home, but I have every intension to do so! 🙂 We are also facilitating a FPU class (military) starting the same week as you but in the UK.
    Congrats again! Keep up the amazing work! 🙂

    • I’m the same way–I still have our “Paid in Full” letter, as well as the thermometer I drew and we colored in as we paid off the loans. One of these days, I’ll get them both framed side by side. One of these days 🙂

      I hope your class goes well!

  4. Pingback: We bought a minivan! | Balance and Blueberries

Leave a comment