Easy Moroccan Couscous

I’ve never made couscous before. I have no idea why. It’s so easy! And so tasty. I got my recipe from the lovely people at Food Network, and adapted it slightly.

You’ll need:

  • 1/2 small onion, chopped
  • 4 Tbs. butter
  • 3 cups chicken broth
  • 1 1/2 cups couscous
  • 1/2 cup pine nuts
  • salt and pepper

In a saucepan, sautee your onions in the butter (yum!). Add chicken broth and bring to a boil. Once it boils, remove from heat and add couscous.

Stir, cover, and let it sit for 10 minutes. I was skeptical about this “removing from heat” business. But it works. It’s magic. Really.

Mix in pine nuts, salt, and pepper, and eat!

It’s a great way to get out of the rice slump. It’s quicker to cook, it’s high in protein, it’s generally just awesome. I might be a couscous convert.

I wanna know: What kinds of “non-traditional” grains do you like?

6 thoughts on “Easy Moroccan Couscous

  1. Good call on the couscous!! I like quinoa too, high in protien and yummy! Once a month or so, I cook a huge batch of couscous or quinoa, mix in some veggies and spices and freeze in little containers for grab n go lunches!

  2. I thought couscous was a form of pasta…. but, then again – maybe not.

    Quinoa is decidedly my grain of choice. It cooks up almost as easily and quickly – is exceptionally high in protein (highest of any grain), and is very flexible. You can eat it hot, like rice, or cold like in tabouleh salad. It makes a great side dish with fish or chicken, with just a little butter and salt and pepper.

    It was also sacred to the Incan people. Which makes it undoubtedly cool.

  3. Pingback: Quinoa Chili Salad « Balance and Blueberries

Leave a comment