Pea Soup is good for the soul

Sometimes you get sick. And that just stinks.

Kleenex. Soup. Cold and Sinus medicine. Tea. More Kleenex. Who has time to be sick? Over-rated.

When I’m sick, I want to consume two things: tea and soup. I know that everyone says that they’re good for you, but are they actually? Is it going to make me get better any faster, or does it just feel good to consume hot liquid? Either way, I’m fine with it. Give me my tea and my soup. Just not in the same container.

This recipe comes from Heidi, the lovely woman behind the recipes and the camera over at 101 Cookbooks. She has a lovely, simple recipe for vegetarian split pea soup.  If you’re more of a give-me-a-ham-bone-in-my-pea-soup kind of person, here’s the recipe for you.

The best part about this recipe? Short essential ingredients list. Really, all you need to make this bowl of deliciousness happen are:

  • split peas
  • 2 onions
  • water

I would recommend following Heidi’s recipe, and then adding salt and pepper to suit your tastes. It might just be my poor, sick taste buds, but I found it a bit bland without some additional salt and pepper.

The best part about a pot of soup? Gobs of leftovers!

Happy weekend, everyone!

I wanna know: What do you have planned for this weekend before Thanksgiving?

3 thoughts on “Pea Soup is good for the soul

  1. Nice soup (but yes i’d go for the ham version!). We are going to a) go into London and wander round a couple of museums (we rarely do it) and b) go and see the Marilyn Monroefilm (but i still havent booked the tickets) Quite active really for us….

  2. Pingback: מתכון: מרק חורף צהוב עם אפונה :: Things n' Stuff

  3. Pingback: What’s for dinner? Winter Edition. | Balance and Blueberries

Leave a comment